Follow up to Digg/Reddit debate

Wow, thanks to everyone who contributed comments to the previous post. I thought I’d summarize my responses and write a follow-up rather than clutter the comments section in that post. I’d also like to thank everyone on reddit who voted this up to the FP, kept it there for a good portion of the day, and made it one of the most hotly debated posts yesterday. A big thanks goes to those that dugg the story that did indeed get popular but was removed by the censor 40 minutes later (hmmm…).

First off, to all the haters I’d like to say that contrary to appearances, I love digg. Or rather, I loved digg. It’s because I care about the site and the community that I wrote the post in the first place. Yeah, I know it’s silly to take some dumb website personally, but I can’t help it, I do. I’ve spent a lot of hours on digg, so I feel like I have a right to an opinion, and good cause to be frustrated with the way things are right now.

Case in point, the previous post we’re discussing was dugg, and hit the front page for 40 minutes, and then got removed. Not buried, removed. Poof. This kind of censorship has long been discussed, and Kevin Rose’s response has been baffling, at the very least. 

Granted, Digg.com is privately owned and managed. There is no law governing over it where it is required to “play fair”, in a manner we’d deem democratic or transparent. Basically, they don’t owe us anything. However, they were one of the first to sell themselves as an uncensored site that let its community decide what gets popular, and now it just seems like they are suffering from a serious case of talking-from-both-sides-of-their-mouth-itis. This is precisely what currently makes Reddit better. Open Source is more than just a catch phrase. It’s a commitment to transparency and equality within the community.

This, to me, seems to be of key importance to bringing about  a higher standard community news-site.


Share this post :

6 Responses

  1. I had similar motivation behind my anti-digg posting which I linked in your previous article.

    I am not bashing digg because I hate it and don’t understand it, I am bashing it because after using it for almost FOUR YEARS, I have seen it evolve into something I enjoy much much less. I do not think it can be attributed to having a much larger user base now either, as some people suggested.

    The quality of content is in the shitter, and as dumber content becomes more dominant on the site, dumber people are the ones who enjoy it. Eventually it will just be a page to post funny videos and pictures to.

  2. Thanks for commenting. It reminds me of the old collective intelligence vs. dumbness of crowds debacle.

    *sigh*

    Guess I’ll see you on reddit?

  3. Yeah, add me! (werkkrew)

  4. Agreed. There are topics that will be removed from the front page. Happened to me twice in the last 3 months. This whole mchanism how things get to the front page is fishy. If you know how to play the game, it works very well, for very few sites – such as huffingtonpost.com or arstechnica.com. Fair?

  5. I agreed with you

  6. Digg is the highest standard in our community, for better or for worse.

    http://suburbanconnoisseurs.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

